Women's World Cup 2019 draw: Draw date, time, teams & all you need to know

The group stage of the eighth edition of the Women’s World Cup will be decided on Saturday ahead of next summer’s tournament taking place in France

The draw to determine the group stage of the Women’s World Cup to be held next summer is set to take place on Saturday, December 8, with all the qualified teams having been confirmed.

France won the rights to host the tournament in March 2015, which will be the first time that they are to do so, and the third time that a European nation will act as Women’s World Cup hosts.

The US Women’s National Team will enter the competition as defending champions, having already won the tournament three times prior.

Goal brings you everything you need to know ahead of the draw.

The draw will take place on Saturday, December 8 at 12pm ET (6pm GMT) and will be held at La Sine Musicale in Paris, France.

Viewers in the United States are able to watch the draw on FS2 in English, while Telemundo and Universo will televise the draw in Spanish.

A live stream will also be available on the FIFA’s official YouTube channel.

Teams will be drawn into six groups of four from four pots based on the FIFA Women’s World Rankings (which will only be released on Friday, December 7).

France, as host country, is automatically placed into position A1 in Pot 1, and no group is allowed to contain more than one team from each confederation.

UEFA is the exception, however, with nine teams to be seeded – though each group must contain no more than two UEFA clubs.

Following the six group stages, the top-two finishing teams will automatically progress to the knockout phase of the tournament alongside the four best third-placed teams. From then on, the round of 16 will then be played, following the semi-final, final and third-place play-off fixture.

The final of the Women’s World Cup will be held at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais on July 7.

The tournament will begin on June 7, 2019 and end on July 7, 2019 and will be held across nine venues in France.

A total of 24 teams qualified for the final tournament during the qualification stage that took place from April 2017 to December 2018.

The likes of Chile, Jamaica, Scotland and South Africa will make their debuts in the Women’s World Cup next summer, with Italy to take part in the competiton for the first time since 1999.

Argentina are participants in the tournament for the first time since the 2007 edition, while Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden and the USWNT have qualified for their eighth World Cup – continuing their streak of qualifying for every World Cup held so far.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *